Groningen Journal of International Law

International Law Under Construction


The Groningen Journal of International Law is a Dutch foundation (Stichting), founded in 2012. The Journal is a not-for-profit, open-access, electronic publication. GroJIL is run by students at the University of Groningen, the Netherlands, with supervision conducted by an Advisory Board of academics. The Journal is edited by volunteering students from several different countries and reflects the broader internationalisation of law.


The Groningen Journal of International Law aims to promote knowledge, innovation and development. It seeks to serve as a catalyst for author-generated ideas that address the role of international law in facing the challenges of the 21st century. The Journal aims to become a recognised platform for legal innovation with the purpose of developing and promoting the rule of international law through engaging analysis, innovative ideas, academic creativity, and exploratory scholarship.


Innovation + Creativity + Exploration + Open Mindedness

The Groningen Journal of International Law is based on four values, all of which are intertwined with one another. Innovation is the bedrock upon which the Journal is based. Innovation requires creativity, for without the creative mind new solutions will not present themselves. Creativity is dependent on exploration to systematise the unknown. Open mindedness, the ability to look for solutions beyond current structures and paradigms, underlies the exploration of new ideas.

Publishing Profile

The Groningen Journal of International Law is not a traditional journal, which means that the articles we accept are not traditional either. We invite writers to focus on what the law could be or should be, and to apply their creativity in presenting solutions, models and theories that in their view would strengthen the role and effectiveness of international law, however it may come to be defined. To this end, the Journal requires its authors to submit articles written in an exploratory and non-descriptive style.

For more information on how to submit an article to the Journal, please visit our Submissions page.

Organisational Structure

The Editorial Board manages the daily operations of the Journal and reports to the Advisory Board on a yearly basis. ‘International Law Under Construction’, our international law blog, is maintained by the Blog Committee and its Executive Blog Editor reports to the Editor-in-Chief. The Editing Committee is responsible for the Journal’s biannual publications and is chaired by a Managing Editor who reports directly to the Publishing Director on the Editorial Board. Finally, the PR Committee organises academic events and carries out promotional activities and is supervised by the Board’s Promotional Director.


Reet Varma / President

Kyrill Ryabtsev / Editor-in-Chief

Medes Malaihollo / Publishing Director

Rosalind Turkie / Executive Blog Editor

Rolanda Yung-Hoi  / Promotional Director

Yuvraj Rattan Mehra / External Liaison

John Amir Daniel Johnson / Secretary and Treasurer


Prof. dr. Marcel Brus / Public International Law / University of Groningen

Prof. dr. Caroline Fournet / Criminal Law / University of Groningen

Prof. dr. Laurence Gormley / European Law / University of Groningen

Prof. dr. André de Hoogh / Public International Law / University of Groningen

Prof. dr. Brigit Toebes / Public International Law / University of Groningen                     

Prof. dr. Viola Bex-Reimert / Migration Law / University of Groningen


Vanessa Hernandez / Editorial Reviewer (Blog)
Joel Joseph / Editorial Reviewer (Blog)


Şilan Çelebi  / Managing Editor (Issues)
Christian Delev / Senior Editor (Blog)
Zalikha Younas / Senior Editor (Blog)
Lieve Cleach  / Senior Editor (Blog)
Nike Kohne  / Senior Editor (Blog)
Pedro de Sousa / Graphic Designer